Fear is just a lie.

“Fear is just a lie. So open up your eyes.” All of my life I’ve struggled with fear ever since I can remember. When I was around six years old I almost had to have a surgery that could have  killed me, and I was terrified that I was gonna die. But I ended up not to have the surgery and here I am now 22 years old. Then when I was a teenager I was home alone with my two little brothers, when someone broke into the house, and I was terrified then too. And there are many other things, that I’ve gone through that made me be afraid.

That being said, even though all of those things happened God got me through all of them. But that doesn’t mean that I am still not a fearful person today because I definitely am. I still struggle with fear everyday. For instance, every time I have to go somewhere, or do something that’s out of my ordinary every day schedule, I have anxiety attacks. I always start thinking of the worst things that could possibly happen, and I freak myself out. Granted, most of the things I think about that scare me never happen, I still do it and it still freaks me out.

Recently I’ve been trying to fix this by immersing myself in the bible, especially in verses that talk about fear (did you know that God tells us 365 times in the bible “do not fear”?that’s one time for everyday of the year!) and anxiety, plus I have been doing lots of thinking and searching, trying to figure out why it is that I get so scared and afraid. I saw a video the other day on YouTube with Mike Donehey from tenth avenue north talking about one of their songs called strong enough to save that has this line of lyrics “fear is just a lie.” He talked about how that if fear doesn’t come from God, (cause God doesn’t give us the spirit of fear) then it has to come from satan, and since all that comes from satan is lies (because he’s the father of lies) then fear is just a lie that we’ve believed.

So in order to get over those fears, we have to figure out what lie it is that we’ve believed, and expose it to God’s truth. And that’s a lot harder than it sounds. Trust me. But I am not gonna give up. Because I am tired of being afraid and not living my life because of it. So I am gonna keep searching, and being honest with myself and with God, while trying to unravel this web of lies that I have believed deep in the dark places of my heart, and expose them to the light of God’s truth so I can be free to live a life free from all fears and anxieties I have.

Leave a Reply

